There was this piece of cake....

There was this piece of cake....

And it had a tag that said, "Eat Me!", and so I did.

Sound familiar? It should if you have ever read Alice In Wonderland. It is one of the few stories that I could always relate to during my life, and learning the art of web design is no different. The different languages, the enormous amount of things that you can do when you intermingle them, is there really any better metaphor then that of Alice finding herself deeper and deeper in a land that she doesn't understand, and surrounded by constant riddles?

That is who I am, just another resident of this intriguing place where images are manipulated and bend with a few lines of correctly written code, and a page where they can call home.

I may tag my posts as, "newbie", but this is not my first foray into this land. 20 someodd years ago I used to code web sites for fun and helped others to do theirs. This was before HTML got all fancy and added a '5' to it's name and CSS was just something that only the professionals knew all about. They don't have a "re-learning" tag, so newbie I shall be.

I was never good at introductions and I'm not a big fan of social groups, or even talking most of the time. I lurk and learn. I absorb everything that I can read (videos do nothing for me, I learn by doing, not watching), and that has brought me to where I am now. HTML I can handle, CSS? That's the artsy part. Ps was harder to learn. Right now my weakness is JS. I need to find where to start, and I swear, finding any page knowledgeable that speaks plain English and doesn't want to charge you your first born child is more of a challenge then I had anticipated. Also, I was never warned that most of those dozens of libraries that you see everywhere don't work like normal programs. Oh no, you have to use your cmd line and figure it out from instructions that assume that everyone and their second cousin's pet goldfish knows how to do that. Talk about uncharted waters.

But I digress. Here I am, just another self-learner, trying to learn the art of web design. Maybe even make it a bit friendlier in the long run for those that are semi-clueless like myself.

~ ѕ∂єѕιяєѕ

Photo by John Silliman on Unsplash